Nestled in a residential neighborhood on Mission Street, three blocks north of Ocean Avenue lies a slice of “Old Carmel”.
L’Escargot was founded in 1958 by Yvan Nopert (No-pear), his mother, Regina, and her brother Max Coronet when they purchased the Paris Cafe in downtown Carmel. At nearly 60 years old, it is the longest running restaurant in Carmel.
Chef-Owner Kerry Loutas carries on the traditions of superb Country French Cuisine and personalized service. A favorite with locals for casual fine dinning, L’Escargot offers visitors a pleasant alternative to the “tourist experience”.